A few thoughts about character education – David Didau: The Learning Spy

The idea that schools should be educating students’ character has been gathering momentum in recent years. But the once distant drums have become increasingly urgent; politicians and professors, hucksters and headteachers, all kinds of apparatchiks – even the occasional edu-blogger – have all waded into the debate. Unusually for me, I’ve mainly stood back, listened and pondered. Last year I visited Kings Leadership Academy in Warrington and although I was hugely impressed by much of what I saw, philosophically I tend towards the belief that teaching character isn’t really what I think education is about. But until now, I haven’t really been able to articulate exactly why.

A few thoughts about character education – David Didau: The Learning Spy.

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment