John Hattie on School Leadership | HuntingEnglish

Show me your effect size!

Last week I transcribed a short video of a speech by Dylan Wiliam that celebrated the magnificently complex vocation that is teaching and how every teacher can improve – see here. At a similar time to watching the Dylan Wiliam video, and finding it struck a resonant chord, I read transcript of a speech given by John Hattie to school leaders in Auckland, New Zealand in 2002. John Hattie is now widely known for his seminal research undertaken for his data rich tome ‘Visible Learning‘, but this speech wasn’t known to me. When I read it, immediately key messages about leadership in schools, and the questions we should be asking about improving schools, emerged that I thought were worth sharing.

via John Hattie on School Leadership | HuntingEnglish

 

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment