Times they are a changin’: how can we improve the PGCE? | David Didau: The Learning Spy

Back in the dim and distant mists of time when I embarked on my Post-graduate Certificate in Education, there was no other way to train as a teacher. Much of my training was interesting and I largely enjoyed the subject specific content. But the generic stuff on professional practice was pretty awful and has largely been expunged from memory. I felt hopelessly unprepared for my first teaching practice, but then I expect that’s true of most or many, but despite lots of classroom experience, lectures and having written a dissertation I was still hopelessly unprepared on being awarded QTS. I had only the sketchiest ideas on how to plan lessons, mark work and ensure that students were kept on track. My behaviour management was woeful and my ability to cope with the stresses and strains of the NQT year left me a shambling and ragged mess.

via Times they are a changin’: how can we improve the PGCE? | David Didau: The Learning Spy.

 

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment