5 top tips for bringing challenge

I read a really interesting line in an Ofsted report this week. It says “Governors have confused asking questions with exercising challenge”. The reason I think this is interesting is that I have a long-held belief that Ofsted *sometimes* does exactly that: confuses governors asking questions with governors exercising challenge. To the point that governing bodies are asking their clerks to highlight governors’ questions in red or put them in italics or in bold. Don’t pretend you don’t do this. I read lots of minutes. I know. I even came across minutes recently where the clerk regularly wrote “a governor challenged…” – even though what followed often didn’t constitute challenge at all, in my view.

Source: 5 top tips for bringing challenge

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

