Inefficiency, Elicitation, & Pragmatism

The Grumpy Teacher

Maradona

I’ve now been doing my TEFL course for ten days and am therefore halfway through it. I’ve done a couple of observed lessons, including preposterously detailed lesson plans (though yes, of course I understand that this has to be done at this stage, as it would on a PGCSE) including a lexical analysis of the words used. I’ve written two assignments and had one of them graded; I’m handing in the second tomorrow.

I am, therefore, about to start pontificating about just how inefficient some aspects of it seem to be.

Before I do, though, I’m going to say that I’m actually having quite a lot of fun. We – there are eight of us doing the course – have to teach actual students. Needless to say, it’s not easy to persuade people to turn up for English language lessons conducted by novices. (Though actually several people on the course…

View original post 1,615 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

