Teaching and learning– what actually works?

Reflections of a science teacher...

TLDR; to improve your teaching and learning using evidence based techniques, see my top ten tips at the end of this article.

Ever since I was introduced to the ideas of learning styles back in my initial teacher training years, I have always been extremely sceptical of any new teaching and learning strategies that come my way. I have always reflected on my teaching practice and tried to deliver my subject in the most effective way(s) possible to benefit my students, but even then, I have always felt that there is still room for improvement – to be a more effective teacher. It wasn’t until I came across John Sweller’s ideas around Cognitive Load Theory and how it is put into deliberate practise at Michaela Community School that teaching and learning started to resonate with me once again.

“The aim of all instruction should be to improve long term memory, if nothing has…

View original post 3,840 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

