The Reading Department

Curriculum Team Leader

A discouraging moment early in my leadership of the English department was being described as something of an oddity because of my enjoyment of reading about education – books, blogs and articles mainly. Reading about education has been seen by at least some in my department, and in my school, as an almost fanatical interest in our profession. This was discouraging because I want my department to be a place that shares ideas, that is passionate about teaching English, that is always seeking out improvement. Reading, I believe, is one of the main ways we can do all of this. A problem arises if the head of department is the only one with access or the only one willing to engage with the ideas because those ideas are concentrated, even bottlenecked, in one place.

Here’s what I did to try to improve the situation:

  • Discuss books and blogs in department…

View original post 588 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

