Music for All

The Traditional Teacher

One of the most memorable things about my first week working for the Inspiration Trust was when John Stephens, the Trust’s recently appointed Director of Music, had the whole staff of the Trust singing on Welcome Back Day. Not only did he have us singing, he had us singing different parts, each representing a section of the orchestra, and harmonising with each other.

Getting a large group of people singing in harmony, as John so impressively did, is a wonderful example of what can be achieved with simple, direct, traditional methods. He displayed the words and the notes on the projector, but I was behind a column, so I could barely see them. I had to rely on my ear and the example of those around me, but I could still join in. I could still learn. I listened and imitated, and I listened and imitated, and I got the…

View original post 347 more words

About Anthony Radice

An English teacher of English in England.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

