Yes he can!

Tabula Rasa

In my career as SENCO so far, I’ve often found myself at loggerheads with people who tell me that pupils with Special Needs can’t do things. Whether we’re talking about learning to read, writing for extended periods, or retaining focus in class, I always end up strongly disagreeing with anyone who tries to tell me that it is simply not possible for a child to do it.

This happens often, and every single time it does, I am appalled.

Sometimes, people blame the circumstances in the child’s life: “He’s got a lot going on at home, so he can’t do it.”

On other occasions, they blame the pressure the kid is under: “He’s really stressed, so he can’t do it.”

But most of the time, people use labels to explain the issue: “He has a special need, so he can’t do it.”

The people who spout these sorts of phrases…

View original post 575 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

