I’m not in favour of banning words

Filling the pail

If you go through my blog, you will find that I don’t use the terms ‘traditional’ or ‘progressive’ a huge amount. However, I don’t fight shy of them either. I tend to use the most accurate words that I can find to convey my meaning and sometimes these are those words.

I draw criticism for this. One party is busy trying to prove that traditional and progressive education don’t exist and this is the basis of their complaint. A different group, who I generally agree with, think the terms are somehow harmful to my arguments.

Virtue and Vice

Apparently, right-thinking, left-of-centre people think that progressive things are good and traditional things are bad. If this is the case then they are operating under a fallacy. These terms are simply descriptions and connote no virtue or vice in of themselves. We have to look at other evidence to draw conclusions of…

View original post 613 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

