Spaced practice, retrieval practice and dual coding: some practical applications in the teaching of history

As a trainee history teacher, I’ve been looking at all kinds of ideas and methods for making my teaching more effective. I’ve worked as a teaching assistant in a secondary school for a year, and this has given me the opportunity to observe how history is taught across a number of year groups. One thing I consciously did in the course of that year, was to try to get a feel for the most common areas of weakness for history students. This is what I came up with:

Source: Spaced practice, retrieval practice and dual coding: some practical applications in the teaching of history

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

