The Necessary Case for Knowledge

Curriculum Team Leader

I’m always a bit bemused when, on Twitter, I read people bemoan the focus on debates and dichotomies, oppose the idea that ‘real’ teachers are even involved in arguments about prog vs. trad or knowledge vs. skills and generally drown out discussion by saying that every answer is right. I suppose I’m bemused because when I first arrived on Twitter and first became aware of the debates that people have and the contrasting ideas that exist, it didn’t add something to my understanding that wasn’t there. Instead, those discussions gave me a fresh perspective on something I was already trying to work out.

When I heard teachers – at a conference my school sent me on – encourage us to encourage students to bake cakes or make a collage of a poem for homework, when I heard a consultant encourage History teachers to write history from the perspective of an…

View original post 746 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

