The push back against teacher bloggers has begun

Let me share with you a bit of my personal story to explain why I am going into teaching. It’s a long and meandering tale, but bear with me. Many moons ago, 29 years to be precise, I applied to study history at university. My sister before me had, heeding parental advice, studied economics and thoroughly hated the experience. Her advice to me was, choose a subject you enjoy above all else and don’t worry about what career you will have afterwards. My parents and uncles were predictably dismayed by my choice. “What are you going to do with a history degree, become a teacher?” they asked in disapproving tones. I hate to say it but teaching was not seen as a prestigious enough profession.

Source: The push back against teacher bloggers has begun

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

