Career Advice for Early Career Teachers

Curriculum Team Leader

A few months ago I was showing a potential candidate for interview around our school, trying to ‘put on the charm’, which I imagine is a desperately sad and painful thing to watch. The teacher in question pulled out of interview at the last moment, which I was deeply offended by – didn’t she notice the charm? But she asked me something that I found at once quite forward and refreshingly honest. I want to progress quickly in my career. How would you advise I do that?

I’m tentative about even writing this blog. After that TES article, I’m only too aware that every online action I carry out is a needy bit of self-promotion. But I run a department quite full of relatively young and relatively inexperienced teachers. This should be a question I had an answer to do and, to an extent, I did but I’ve been thinking…

View original post 1,029 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

