Should teachers be impartial when it comes to politics?

With the election campaigns in full swing, some educators on Twitter have deemed it appropriate to bombard their followers with propaganda tweets in support of their political opinions. Some slogans on my Twitter feed have been so provocative that I have been tempted at times to respond. The reasons why I haven’t are twofold. Firstly, there are not enough characters in a tweet to allow me to fully explain my point of view (I know you can create a thread of multiple tweets but it still feels prescriptive to me). The second and more powerful reason is that for me, politics as well as faith, are private matters.

Source: Should teachers be impartial when it comes to politics?

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

