“Pedagogy is overrated”

Mr Lock's Weblog

Festival of education 2017

I used extensive notes to deliver this talk at the Festival of Education 2017. From the notes and my memory, here is what I said. It is very long and borrows from previous blogs and tweets.

Pedagogy is overrated

I want to argue that education suffers in the U.K. because we focus too much on how to teach, often in the name of pedagogy, at the expense of any real emphasis on what to teach.

This is basically an argument for thinking about curriculum in schools. My premise is that this is relatively absent from UK schools, but if you’ve been in some of the same sessions as me today you may believe me to mistaken as I’m pleased to report that curricular discussion has been evident – at least in the sessions I have been in. Perhaps there is a welcome change afoot.

According to…

View original post 4,844 more words

About mrlock

Headteacher in Cambridgeshire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

