What is behaviour like in a ‘good’ school?

Curriculum Team Leader

When I was an NQT, I got through my first Ofsted with a ‘good’ lesson grading and the school got a ‘good’ too. I celebrated by running myself a bubble bath and drinking a beer in it. Given our results and the report, the head thought we should have got ‘outstanding’ but I wasn’t so sure. As I walked out of school a week or so after we found out the result, I was speaking to the head of year nine and he managed to articulate something I had been struggling with.

‘It might have been better,’ he said, ‘if we got satisfactory. Then maybe SLT would realise what it’s really like.’

Although I was proud of my own performance in the inspection, I couldn’t help feeling unhappy with the result. It wasn’t an easy school to work in. Behaviour was tough. Systems for managing behaviour were non-existent (staff, we…

View original post 657 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

