Is your organisation [part of] an efficient Machine, or is it a bag of spanners?

The Quirky Teacher

I had a bit of an epiphany recently. I was in interview-prep-mode and on the day of the interview I woke up at about 4.30 am feeling like something was missing from my presentation. So I got up, went downstairs, sat with my notes about the Far East, Hirsch and Cognitive Load Theory and then proceeded to construct the mother of all spider diagrams. What dawned on me was that while I had been looking at every facet of what is done in schools in the Far East to make their pupils better mathematicians (and people, for they work harder and care about family more than we ever do), I had not fully realised that I was actually, all along, looking at an almighty and all-encompassing Machine. Such was the shock of that realisation, the glimpse of the sheer scale of this Far Eastern Machine, that I actually felt a bit…

View original post 1,052 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

