“Embrace Mathematics, and the amazing feeling of things clicking into place…”

Modulo Maths

As happens so often these days, I find myself either taking part in or following various discussions online about the nature of the teaching of my subject, that a few days later begin to tie together in my mind as I reflect on how I approach the teaching of Mathematics and the learning I want to see happening in my classroom.

The Secret Teacher article in the Guardian a while ago bemoaned the majority of the content in the Mathematics GCSE, complaining that so much of it will “never be used again.” Indeed “When am I going to use this, Sir?” is an all-too familiar refrain in Maths classrooms across the country, and I would imagine the world. In some cases, it is very easy to provide an answer, and with functional Mathematics, we can easily provide an answer to these problems – percentages are placed easily into contexts surrounding interest…

View original post 988 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

