On why I disagree with universal free lunches and scrapping university fees

Laura McInerney

giphy (3)

Over the past week or so I’ve disappointed a lot of people. I know this, because they’ve tweeted to tell me.

The problem was that Labour announced two policies, and I have issues with both.

The policies are:

  1. Free school lunches for all 7 to 11 year olds, and
  2. Free university tuition for undergraduates (maybe even graduates)

Both sound amazing. Who doesn’t want a world where we feed children and educate everyone? Sign me up!

BUT, the introduction of both largely amount to one thing: giving something for free to people who, by and large, are already able to afford the service.

The twitter critics disagree. They say I’m missing the point because the policy is about giving everyone free access to something. But in both cases we already have targeted support for families most in need. Hence, in both cases, the addition of making it free for all…

View original post 2,558 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

