Just One Paragraph

The Grumpy Teacher

I’ve been reading this and this.

Like everyone with a blog, I’m convinced that everyone wants to know what I think about things, unless they’re suffering from the sort of false consciousness which might be dispelled if only they were to discover my oeuvre. And although I don’t have much to add to these blogs, I can’t condense it into a tweet, so here we go.

I entirely agree with both Cox & Quigley that issuing past papers to pupils, especially towards the beginning of a two-year course, can be counter-productive.

I like their sporting analogies. I’m not the right shape to think about running a marathon, but even I know that I wouldn’t train for one by running marathons. And I know enough about coaching young footballers to know that while there’s plenty of easy popularity to be had by saying ‘today let’s not do any drills at…

View original post 777 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

