Two education policies I’d put in a General Election manifesto

to learn is to follow

I was contacted a couple of weeks ago by a journalist from the Guardian who was interested in finding out what I’d like to see in the parties’ General Election manifestos. You can read the finished article here.

In the end, the journalist decided not to include my suggestions, which I’ve reproduced, for the sake of a slightly more diverse debate, here:

‘Dear Harriet

I’d like to see two things from the general election manifestos:

1. Practical strategies for improving behaviour in schools. I think we need to be radical on this because the problem is so much worse than most parents realise, and because the effects of disruptive behaviour are so damaging: not only are disruptive pupils stealing learning time from their peers but their behaviour is also one of the main drivers of young teachers leaving the profession. I would force schools to have an ‘open-doors’ policy to allow…

View original post 209 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

