Should pupils be given choice over what they study?

Clio et cetera

Economic liberalism has long exalted the role played by markets, and the notion of consumer choice sits at the heart of this idea. If I want to buy a new computer, I can choose from several different companies offering different machines, and I therefore choose the best machine I can get at the price I can afford. If a company is pricing its machines incorrectly then it will not make any money and collapse. In a market, things need to be allowed to fail.

In most cases, I am content with this situation, and indeed the existence of markets and consumer choice has made my life better in countless ways. I am uneasy, however, about turning the school curriculum into a market by turning pupils into ‘consumers’ who can choose what they want to study.There is a case for it, not least in terms of improving the quality of teaching in…

View original post 1,109 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

