Evensong

Soul of the School

Years ago at an interview for a Head of Department post in a school run by a big academy chain I had a conversation which has stayed with me as a challenge to my ideas about education. The crux was around the place of religious music in secular comprehensives. Does it have a role? Should it be left out to avoid offending pupils of other religions and none? Or make an appearance at Christmas and then take a back seat for the rest of the year? It was made quite clear to me that religious music would not be playing a role in the department and so I withdrew but I’ve held the exchange in my mind ever since.

After being at the West London Free School for three years we decided to take it on tour to Germany for a few days. We had a lovely time and whole enterprise…

View original post 660 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

