Prejudice

The Grumpy Teacher

This post was going to be a comment here, but it turned out to be twice as long, so I thought I’d better put it on my site instead.

I don’t live in anything like a metropolis, and I’m not wholly convinced that as a humble schoolmaster, even one at an independent school, I can accurately be described as part of an elite. Nonetheless I suppose that when people think of a metropolitan liberal elite they think of people like me.

When, for instance, several years ago, a parent told me that she stayed at home and was therefore always there for her sons, I did allow myself an internal eye-roll. Weeks later I told a colleague, who was being frustrated by the refusal of the older boy to do any work, that this was only to be expected: the mother was one of those ghastly ‘ladies who lunch,’ and the boy…

View original post 178 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

