A thank you to Y6 primary teachers

fish64

“I learnt all my English grammar from studying foreign languages”

This is a statement I have heard on numerous occasions from adults of all ages and it was brought home to me at a recent event for MFL teachers. A Spanish lady said with a sigh, “I would get through so much more Spanish if I wasn’t having to teach them so much English grammar.” I think most of us there understood. Every year I spend two hour long lessons on English tenses with my year 10 class. First we play tennis, then we eat chips, then we go to London. Pupils quick to get the pattern can swim. What? I hear you ask. Well, I use to play, to eat, to go and to swim as my examples and my classes categorize these verbs in different English tenses. The difference between past participles and simple past tenses…

View original post 535 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

