Reports

The Grumpy Teacher

I’m due to have produced some in just under a fortnight’s time, and then some more a week after that; every term I think ‘I must use half-term to get started,’ and every term I leave them until the last minute. In fact I’d almost forgotten about this dreary duty until I was reminded by reading this article, lamenting the decline of the traditional school report. It’s not the first I’ve read: indeed, this is something on which the Telegraph and the Guardiancan agree. The modern school report: not as good as it used to be.

Instead, therefore, of making a start on actually writing reports, I’m going to write about writing about reports.

I have every sympathy with the thrust of these articles, which is that the modern report is an impersonal and therefore uninformative as well as disappointing for the recipients. There is considerable nostalgia for…

View original post 836 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

