Starting with Why

No Easy Answers

I sawthis Ted talkyesterday and I think it has illuminating resonance for me as a teacher.

In the talk, Simon Sinek identifies 3 stages of all communication: what, how and why.

For example, as a teacher who wants my students to do the best they possibly can, what I want to happen is excellent behaviour, concentration and hard work in class and the completion of 100% of homework to the best of their ability. Typically I will start with this what.

If not all students get on board with this, and I always find at least one of them in each class, then I move to the how. I will talk about how they should SLANT when I am talking, how they should do their homework as soon as it is set, how the harder they work the more they’ll learn, how much easier it is…

View original post 509 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

