Learning and Thriving

The Stable Oyster

I first visited Monks Park School in 1989. I was 11 years old and looking around secondary schools with my mum and dad. It was freezing cold and exactly like what I thought a secondary school should look like. There was a sort of Grange-Hill-esque feel to the place. I could almost imagine crying in the corridor after having my head held down an unflushed toilet. In the end, I undertook my secondary education at a different comprehensive school, based purely on the fact that I didn’t know anybody going to Monks Park and I didn’t like the windows at Cotham School – a perfectly rational decision, at the age of 11.

I started my PGCE at the University of Bristol in 2003. There were five schools on the placement list that put fear through the hearts of the trainees. Monks Park was one of them. It had a reputation…

View original post 2,109 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

