Responsibility

The Grumpy Teacher

“I do not care about your feelings. I am utterly indifferent to your feelings. Some of my colleagues are paid to care about your feelings, and some care about your feelings even without being paid for it. For the record, I am not one of those teachers.”

At that point I deposit the offending essay on the pupil’s desk.

“So do not tell me about your feelings. Is that clear?”

Now I think it’s pretty clear that this is an instruction about academic writing, not necessarily a declaration of my professional position. It usually, though, does occasion a little surprise in the classroom. “Don’t you care about us?” I’m asked, and I gleefully reply that no, I don’t: I’m there to teach them history, not to cuddle them when their boyfriends dump them.

(At this point someone always tries to correct me, and tell me that I mean ‘girlfriends,’ which…

View original post 379 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

