Reflections on Michaela School

dhgenglishreflect

My long awaited visit to Michaela on Friday was timely. It came at a time in my career when I am applying for Assistant Head jobs, considering exactly what I stand for and what I believe matters in education. The school was certainly an eye-opener. I am very grateful to Katie Ashford, Deputy Head who shared time to discuss the school’s English approach, and also Katharine Birbalsingh, Headteacher who kindly allowed myself and a fellow visitor in to her office to ask some questions, and let us share the family lunch.

If I was to sum up my experience, it has led to the need for a realigning of the student-teacher balance in my mind. In Michaela, the teachers command a huge level of respect from students. They are treated in a way that reveres the profession. Hargreaves and Fullan in their book, ‘Professional Capital’  state that in the highest performing educational countries in the world –…

View original post 2,317 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

