Evolution of my Pedagogy II (Teacher Talk)

Bunsen Blue

In this series of blog posts, I reflect on how my teaching has evolved since my time as trainee. Last week I wrote about behaviour. This week…

Teacher Talk

Everyone seems to have an opinion on how much timea teacher should spend talking each lesson. I’ve heard of countless trainee teachers receiving feedback after lesson observations which goes something like: ‘You were talking for a significant part of the lesson… let’s consider ways we can reduce the amount of teacher-talk’. Rarely, is the feedback the other way around: ‘You didn’t talk enough – you should be explaining more!’ – not a phrase I’ve heard often. In my own training, I found some notes I made from a session whichread:’Less direct instruction; more activities which are student-led’.’Put instructions everywhere (talking minimum) and make activities self-explanatory’.

Equally, I’ve been encouraged to use lots of modelling and explanations – clear examples of…

View original post 1,130 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

