Should the curriculum be prescribed or should teachers have autonomy?

@ragazza_inglese

This is a slightly lengthier version of my introduction to answering this question as part of a panel at the #ChoosingKnowledge event on Saturday 11th February 2017.

I think this question is crucial to understanding the vision for knowledge driven schools and for the teaching profession. Autonomy has been historically associated with a free for all when it comes to curriculum, I know that starting my teaching career I viewed autonomy as the opportunity to go into the classroom and teach what I wanted, and this was based on the progressive ideals that I had come into the teaching profession with and which I had been encourage to follow as part of my teacher training. Any element of prescription – even as far as the National Curriculum – I saw as an imposition on being able to teach content that I felt was relevant to my pupils. The consequence being…

View original post 692 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

