High expectations – what they look like in my classroom

missdcoxblog

I regularly waffle on about ‘high expectations’ yet don’t define what I mean. This blog will attempt to explain how you might see it in my classroom. It’s a long list.

Firstly, I need to make it clear that high expectations at key stage 3 is not starting GCSE in year 7 nor is it getting them to do ‘more work’.

I think the following shows how I have high expectations in my classroom:

Learning behaviours

  • If I ask the class to do something, everyone in the class should do it, if not this will be pointed out to the individual
  • I expect them to have independence. All classes make notes and as a minimum make the notes I tell them. Most will write over and above.
  • I expect students to behave, if not they are choosing to have the sanction as set by the school policy. I give them…

View original post 817 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

