Head Magisterial Silliness

The Grumpy Teacher

As a young man, I played a little Association Football. No, nothing remotely impressive, and you certainly won’t find my name on a vintage version of Championship Manager, but at one particular school a couple of seasons at a semi-professional club made me the equivalent of Jose Mourinho, and so I was appointed Director of Football,* with responsibility for all the teams in the school.**

Just down the road, a few miles away, was another school. A rival establishment. A place where the standard of cricket played by its boys was significantly higher than at ours.

Now one-sided sport is rarely fun. This is a realisation which comes to boys in their teenage years, I think. My third form tutees find it incomprehensible that I can be disappointed in a crushing victory, on the basis that no one gets much out of it, whereas the sixth form get it. But…

View original post 696 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

