Paleotraditionalism

The Grumpy Teacher

Once upon a time, long long ago, I taught Political Ideologies to the Upper Sixth. I haven’t done so for a decade, but with the last of the Gove reforms being rolled out this September I expect to be doing so once more in a couple of years’ time.

Will I teach Anarchism? I don’t know. I hope so: when I did, I rather enjoyed it. Anarchism has a decent intellectual heritage, and I like how the utopia envisaged both by ‘collectivist’ anarchists and by ‘individualist’ anarchists looks essentially similar: I imagine two of those fabled anarchist communities telling very different stories about how they’d come into being, and about why their inhabitants behaved as they did, while bearing a very strong resemblance to each other.

But, as I told the pupils I taught, this isn’t ever going to happen. And, because I can’t resist a cheap shot, I would…

View original post 742 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

