Teaching in the moment

Filling the pail

I’ve not bought into the mindfulness craze but, as I understand it, part of the technique is to live in the moment; to make the most of now.

Teachers, like everyone else, have plans. We have summits that we want to reach. These may be numerical targets, skills that we seek to develop, bodies of knowledge we seek to convey or any of these. But we’re always looking ahead. I know my job. At my school it is to maximise my students skills, competencies and capacities so that when they stand on the threshold of their futures they can choose their heart’s desire. Those futures are always on my mind.

But I think we lose something if we are only ever thinking about where we want to be.

It’s easy to accept the idea that you can either have fun now or delay gratification in the service of some future…

View original post 165 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

