New year’s resolutions that last (and really help!)

NDHS Blog Spot

This post was written by VBA

New year- new me?

January is always full of ‘New Year New Me’ mantras – I feel quite overwhelmed already by the pressure to make 2017 ‘unforgettable’ or to overhaul a particular aspect of my life. Radically however, I set my resolutions back in September. Forget January 1st, September 1st is when teachers set themselves new resolutions for the academic year ahead.

Perhaps, good intentions is perhaps a better phrase! Full of energy and vigour after the summer break, many tell themselves they are going to trial new ideas and concepts in their teaching, attempt to maintain a ‘work life balance’, and plan consistently exciting and engaging lessons.

I am guilty however, of using my new found September enthusiasm to attempt 16 different new teaching concepts, creating 3 whizzy lessons and then resorting back to textbooks. One year, I even created a…

View original post 1,232 more words

About teachingbattleground

I teach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

