The fatal flaw in attempts to assess soft skills 

Filling the pail

Imagine I gave you a test to assess your maths skills. It starts like this:

Be honest – there are no right or wrong answers

1. I enjoy working at maths problems

❑ Very much like me
❑ Mostly like me
❑ Somewhat like me
❑ Not much like me
❑ Not like me at all

2. I worry that I’m not good at maths

❑ Very much like me
❑ Mostly like me
❑ Somewhat like me
❑ Not much like me
❑ Not like me at all …

I haven’t tested these particular questions with real people but, hopefully, you will agree that giving something like this to a group of adults could potentially give a good indication of who was better or worse at maths. So why don’t maths tests tend to look like this? After all, isn’t this what they are for?

First we need…

View original post 415 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

