How to use a knowledge organiser

MrHistoire.com

There’s been quite a bit written about knowledge organisers of late. Heather Fearn wrote here about the purpose; Michael Tidd and Jon Brunskill have explained their use in primary; Debra Kidd expressed her misgivings here. I want to explain how I use them in history lessons, and how we use them as a school.

Many of us have been using some form of organiser for ages. It makes sense to, right? To have all the key stuff on one sheet, all neat and easily emailable and stickable and readable. My first school used to have ‘The Germany 25’, whilst at my second I made a Cold War chronology which we tested every lesson. But it wasn’t until I read and saw Joe Kirby’s explanation of Michaela’s usage that I really thought about how the humble KO’s organisation might be more than just a reference point. There’s no point me…

View original post 948 more words

About Toby French

History teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

