The New Maths Curriculum Grading System Explained

Dragonfly Training


With the new maths curriculum coming into place, the maths GCSE grading system will be changing in the academic year of 2014/15 across England. By 2017, the traditional A* to G will be replaced with the numbers 1 – 9, with ‘1’ being the lowest and ‘9’ being the highest. Falling below the lowest number of 1 will result in what we now see as a ‘U’ grade, so under the new curriculum there will actually be 10 possible outcomes for pupils rather than the 9 levels of grade we see at the moment. To reiterate, a level 1 will be the lowest grade a pupil will be able to achieve so the foundation tier will give access to grades 1-5, whereas the higher tier 4-9.

According to Gov.UK: ‘The new GCSE sets higher expectations; it demands more from all students and provides further challenges for those…

View original post 331 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s